Americana Honors & Awards 2020 Nominations Led by Brittany Howard, Tanya Tucker & The Highwomen

The nominations for the 19th annual Americana Honors & Awards, currently scheduled for this September, were announced today — with Alabama Shakes frontwoman Brittany Howard, country legend Tanya Tucker and Nashville supergroup The Highwomen leading the nominations.

Howard and Tucker are both nominated for artist of the year, along with Highwomen solo star Brandi Carlile, the late singer-songwriter John Prine, and best new artist Grammy-nominated singer-songwriter Yola. (The Highwomen are also nominated for duo/group of the year, along with Black Pumas, Drive-By Truckers, Buddy & Julie Miller and Our Native Daughters.)

Howard, Tucker and The Highwomen are all also nominated for both album of the year (for Jaime, While I’m Livin’ and The Highwomen, respectively) and song of the year (« Stay High, » « Bring Me My Flowers Now » and « Crowded Table »). They’re joined in the album category by Nathaniel Rateliff (And It’s Still Alright) and Tyler Childers (Country Square), and in the song category by Drive-By Truckers (« Thoughts and Prayers »), Aubrie Sellers featuring Steve Earle (« My Love Will Not Change ») and Rateliff again (« And It’s Still Alright »).

The Americana Honors & Awards are set to take place at the Ryman Auditorium in Nashville on Sept. 16, though a message from the Americana Music Association included with the nominations disclaims that « we are consistently monitoring the evolving situation regarding COVID-19 and will keep you posted as we approach the ceremony date. »

See the complete list of nominations below.

Album of the Year:

“And It’s Still Alright,” Nathaniel Rateliff, Produced by James Barone, Patrick Meese and Nathaniel Rateliff

“Country Squire,” Tyler Childers, Produced by David Ferguson and Sturgill Simpson

“The Highwomen,” The Highwomen, Produced by Dave Cobb

“Jaime,” Brittany Howard, Produced by Brittany Howard

“While I’m Livin’,” Tanya Tucker, Produced by Brandi Carlile and Shooter Jennings

Artist of the Year:

Brandi Carlile

Brittany Howard

John Prine

Tanya Tucker


Duo/Group of the Year:

Black Pumas

Drive-By Truckers

The Highwomen

Buddy & Julie Miller

Our Native Daughters

Emerging Act of the Year:

Black Pumas

Katie Pruitt

Aubrie Sellers

Billy Strings

Kelsey Waldon

Instrumentalist of the Year:

Ellen Angelico

Annie Clements

Brittany Haas

Zachariah Hickman

Rich Hinman

Song of the Year:

“And It’s Still Alright,” Nathaniel Rateliff, Written by Nathaniel Rateliff

“Bring My Flowers Now,” Tanya Tucker, Written by Brandi Carlile, Phil Hanseroth, Tim Hanseroth and Tanya Tucker

“Crowded Table,” The Highwomen, Written by Brandi Carlile, Natalie Hemby and Lori McKenna

“My Love Will Not Change,” Aubrie Sellers featuring Steve Earle, Written by Billy Burnette and Shawn Camp

“Stay High,” Brittany Howard, Written by Brittany Howard

“Thoughts and Prayers,” Drive-By Truckers, Written by Patterson Hood

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse e-mail ne sera pas publiée.